SOAS Research Online

A Free Database of the Latest Research by SOAS Academics and PhD Students

[skip to content]

Fischel, Roy S. (2016) 'Deccan Sultanates.' In: The Encyclopaedia of Empire. Oxford, UK: Wiley-Blackwell.

This is the latest version of this item.

Full text not available from this repository.


The Deccan Sultanates were Muslim-ruled sultanates in central India, comprising Aḥmadnagar, Bījāpūr, Golkonda, and the short-living Berār and Bīdar. Emerging out of the disintegration of the Bahmanī Sultanate in the 1480s, the Deccan Sultanates incorporated varied Muslim (Foreigners, Deccanis) and non-Muslim (Brahmins, nāyakas, desāīs, Marathas) elites. During the sixteenth century, the sultanates expanded their territories, fostered both Islamic and local characteristics, and employed multiple languages (Persian, Dakhni, and the vernaculars Kannada, Marathi, and Telugu) and political idioms simultaneously to accommodate various elements of local society. In the seventeenth century, the Mughal Empire increased its influence in the Deccan, conquering Aḥmadnagar in 1636. The Marathas broke away from Bījāpūr in the 1650s, further destabilizing the political order by pursuing their independent agenda. Under these growing pressures, Bījāpūr and Golkonda collapsed and their territories were annexed by the Mughals in 1686-87.

Item Type: Other
SOAS Departments & Centres: Departments and Subunits > School of History, Religions & Philosophies > Department of History
Legacy Departments > Faculty of Arts and Humanities > Department of History
Date Deposited: 14 Jul 2016 11:04

Altmetric Data

There is no Altmetric data currently associated with this item.

Available Versions of this Item


Download activity - last 12 monthsShow export options
Downloads since deposit
6 month trend
6 month trend
Accesses by country - last 12 monthsShow export options
Accesses by referrer - last 12 monthsShow export options

Repository staff only

Edit Item Edit Item